Response to Still Smoking, and Proud of it


I couldn’t help myself. After reading Murder of Raven’s recent post, I felt a strong desire to respond, but my words started getting lengthy and I haven’t posted anything in a while. So, here you have it.

It’s sad when the government legislates what, when, and how we live our lives, but it’s even more ridiculous when a private company is able to dictate whether or not we’re causing risk to ourselves. Next thing you know the health care companies will try to convince us that because we choose to smoke a pipe, drink a little, or that we’re obese, that we’re in a sense committing suicide or some other absurd B.S. Could we all live a little healthier? Sure we can. But, with all the research that has been done over the years in regards to whether or not smoking lightly, or in moderation is a health benefit, I’d hope someone would make wise choices and not just jump on the bandwagon because it’s the cool thing to do. Or, what’s now being brought to the table is the “Green” thing for the atmosphere. I’m sorry people, but I honestly think that we have way more problems to be concerned with in this world than whether or not a guy should be smoking for pleasure. I also think that the air pollutants and other poisons we put in our bodies are ten times more harmful than a small bowl of tobacco.

There are only a few things that will keep me from enjoying my little vices. One of them happens to be my wife, who tends to get migraines. So I have to be careful about what tobaccos I smoke and where I smoke. We all know that if momma isn’t happy, no one is happy.

In some ways, I honestly think that pipe smoking is the only thing that has kept men over the generations from being institutionalized. It calms us down, and in many ways, helps us think. Of course, there will be those who disagree, but for those of us who do actually enjoy a good smoke, leave them to it. In the end, it’s their own life, their own responsibility, and they have to face their own consequences. Most of the time when I smoke one of my pipes in public, people gather in closer, not move away, afraid of second hand smoke. Most people I’ve come across actually have some kind of fond memory of a family member who smoked a pipe. So with that, I’m gonna stop ranting and go get some work done. Enjoy your life and for those who do, happy puffin’.

2 thoughts on “Response to Still Smoking, and Proud of it

  1. Well, Shaun, if my little rant has caused you to start posting again, then that in itself made it worthwhile!

    Excellent post!

    -Smith

    I’ll try to not be such a slacker, lol. I’ll post about what’s going on after the holiday weekend. But, just for pipe collecting sake, I actually have gotten some really good finds from some antique shops. How about a Savinelli Estella and a Savinelli Churchwarden?

Leave a Reply

