A Glimpse At Fatherhood


It is a scary concept when you’re facing fatherhood in the face. I haven’t updated my blog on our adoption process for various reasons. One of them being that legally, I have to be careful of what and how much I share. Yes, our homestudy has been approved. We’ve asked about children and haven’t heard anything in return from the state case workers. But there is a sibling group  of two who we’re hoping and praying will become our children. Their case is kind of unique, yet it seems to be rather normal. Maybe it’s just unique from my perspective, I don’t know.

One thing’s for sure, being a parent just in the visitation period is a lot of work. Almost more than I had expected. In some ways, it’s a heck of a lot easier, where in other ways it already seems harder than I had thought. But I can guarantee that I’m excited and can’t wait to have my family. We’ve already done so much and seemingly have won respect and trust with these children. They’ve opened up to us as to what’s happened with their biological parents. This is even more remarkable being that they never talk about how they were placed into the system.

 Just from this past weekend, they’ve already started to figure out just what’s going on. That they’re about to move in with us soon. They started asking questions and I have to say it was hard not saying much, but I think we were able to divert their queries well enough without denying anything. This weekend, we get them overnight. I’m excited and I hope that they enjoy their time with us. We have a few things planned, including going to church and them meeting family on our normal Sunday family dinner routine. I just hope it’s not too overwhelming to them.

All I can ask for right now is for prayers. Prayers that the court system goes smoothly. Prayers that these two children continue to attach themselves to us like we have them, and that we create a family like no other. I pray that we can provide for them emotionally and physically. There’s a lot to parenthood that I never really considered until now. So I pray that we can find the answers we seek and that they are the right ones for our situation.

2 thoughts on “A Glimpse At Fatherhood

  1. I found your site through Mister Smith.

    My sister and her husband adopted two half brothers at age 4 and 8. The struggled, and still struggle, with many things beyond their control or the fault of the children. But they are happier every day they live with these gifts from God.

    My thoughts are with you as you enter into this next chapter of your life. Looking forward to reading more of your posts.

    Thanks! I love it myself, but I have to say that being a parent is a lot more overwhelming than I originally thought. Also, there have been some changes since I made this post, which I hope to make an update after the holidays. Yes a gift from God they are and as happy as they make me, they also exhaust me, lol.

  2. I’m an adopted child (I have a fraternal twin sister).
    I have mixed views on how the world sees people like me and my sis.
    There’s much I’ve learned in the past few years but nothing I’d share here for reasons I’m sure you’re aware of.
    Should you ever have any questions, feel free to email me.
    I applaud you on adopting.
    I’ve written several posts on said subject on my blog.
    You should be able to find them using my “search” box.

    peace,
    ~m

    Thanks. I know several people have mixed views about being adopted and how they’re looked upon. I’ll have to go check those posts out. I’m always looking for someone else’s point of view. I definitely do want to give my kids the best by understanding at least a little some of the things they could feel as they grow.

Leave a Reply

